On Friday, Governor Phil Murphy signed a new DWI law that requires all individuals charged with drunk driving to obtain an ignition lock for their vehicles. The ignition interlock device must be installed and then used by the person who has been convicted including those who committed their first offense. The new DWI law applies to anyone whose blood alcohol concentration (BAC) registers at 0.08 percent and to individuals who refuse the breathalyzer test after being pulled over by law enforcement. First-timers who register BACs between 0.08 and 0.10 percent must use the device for six months to a year following a 45-day license suspension. Previously convicted individuals must use the device for one year to 18 months after they fulfill their 90-day license suspension. Any persons who commit subsequent offenses will receive penalties in line with the severity of the offenses they carry out.
Changes in the law means that individuals charged with drunk driving will receive lighter license suspensions but must use the ignition interlock device for longer periods of time. This enables the convicted individuals the ability to continue to use their vehicles for work purposes and other necessities but still ensure that they will be penalized and cannot drive under the influence. The Governor and the New Jersey legislature believe that the devices will be a more effective alternative in combating drunk driving fatalities than lengthy license suspensions.
With over 25 years of experience, South Jersey DUI defense lawyer Kenneth D. Aita of Aita Law LLC knows the nuances of DUI and DWI laws in New Jersey. If you were charged with a DUI or DWI offense, contact a criminal defense attorney you can trust at 856-287-7800 or contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation. We represent clients in Cherry Hill, Haddonfield, Camden County, and throughout South Jersey from our offices in Haddonfield, New Jersey.